Skip to main content

Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum - Reception Class

In the Early Years Foundation Stage we look at three Prime areas and four Specific areas of learning and development.


Prime Areas

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

  • Making relationships
  • Self-Confidence and self-awareness
  • Managing feelings and behaviour

Physical Development

  • Moving and handling
  • Health and self-care

Communication and Language

  • Listening and attention
  • Understanding
  • Speaking


Specific Areas


  • Reading
  • Writing


  • Numbers
  • Shape, space and measure

Understanding the World

  • People and communities
  • The world
  • Technology

Expressive Arts and Design

  • Exploring and using media and materials
  • Being imaginative


Please find below our Curriculum Coverage and further information.